Distractions

So some pretty heavy things have been going on in life right now, so I have been doing my best to cope. Turns out, my coping mechanisms are kind of fun…maybe I should have been doing them all along?

Coping Method #1: Hitting the gym.

I get a discount at Gold’s Gym through my job so I figured I had no excuse not to work out (that and the fact that my boss teaches classes there in her “spare” time added a little pressure). Anywho, I have been going to one of her classes, appropriately called Body Attack,  and although I thought I was going to die after my first time, I am now kind of addicted. I just couldn’t make it this Tuesday because it would have interfered with one of my other coping methods…

Coping Method #2: Partying like its 1999.

So I don’t know who I think I am, but somehow I feel like I can party like I’m a Hollywood It Girl and still be fine to be at work at 8am the next day. Turns out, while 25 isn’t exactly old, it sure as hell isn’t 21. One of my friends is kind of a rockstar, and he parties like its his job. Sunday, Tuesday, these may not seem like party nights but let me tell you, they most certainly are. He has single handedly restored my love for the nightlife. As luck would have it, I had been looking in the wrong places for San Antonio nightlife. Here is me, this heterosexual young woman looking for a great place to go dance, maybe partake in an adult beverage and just have a great time surrounded by beautiful stylish people. Apparently, in order to find the killer combination of those things, I needed to look in the one place I never thought of: the San Antonio Gay Scene, or as I like to call it, the SAGS–(not to be confused with the Screen Actor’s Guild, an equally gay friendly organization). Anyway, the SAGS is awesome and I’m pretty convinced that gay men and black women are cut from the same cloth. I mean, we are all really just divas deep down right? Who am I kidding, it ain’t that deep down. Let your diva flag fly b*tches!

Coping Method #3: Dancing.

Now most people would think that the whole dancing thing would be taken care of through CM #2, but no, not for me. I certainly like to dance when I party like a rockstar but I also think that there is healing in an iPod, underpants and your bedroom. Something about literally dancing like no one is looking is so much fun! I love to dance and I mostly just throw on my latest playlist (a scary mixture of hip hop and Myley Cyrus) and dance my ass off. Other times, I watch some hip hop choreography on YouTube and try to learn it. I usually fail miserably, but at least I pick up a few new moves in the process. Below is a video of one of my favorite routines from a choreographer out of Australia named Lizzie Wicks (and yes, it is to a Ludacris song which if you know me at all, you know how I have a burning love for Ludacris that could never be quenched).

Coping Method #4: Lost

Getting lost in Lost is the perfect form of escapism. 4.8.15.16.23.42.

  1. I LOVE to watch people dance hip hop! And it’s good to see that you’re writing again. 🙂

      • welchandvangogh
      • August 18th, 2010

      Thanks Athena! I only wish we could go to this hip hop workout together, remember kickboxing? That was so much fun! And it feels good to be writing again, it is definitely therapeutic for me right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

