Fashion Week Favs: Part I

OM-double G. It’s Fashion Week! While unfortunately I can’t stalk the shows in NYC, I can view all of the looks online thanks to extensive coverage from New York Magazine. All photos are courtesy of Imaxtree via New York Magazine Fashion Week Live coverage.

ADAM

L.O.V.I.N.G his trousers for Spring. Also glad to see that sparkles aren’t going anywhere just yet, because we all know how much I love a sequin.

Cushnie et Ochs

Nothing says I’m a New Yorker like wearing black in the middle of Spring when everyone else is rocking florals. I love the slouchy chic of the pants mixed with this very pretty sheer top. It kind of gives the femininity of the top a little bit of a hard edge. The draping of the dress in the second image is perfect. It is like the most sophisticated way to do a cutout and play a little peekaboo with some skin.

Jason Wu

Ok so I kind of went a little crazy for Jason Wu this season. I mean he just did it all: sheer, florals, great trousers and tailored dresses. He is an early frontrunner for my personal favorite Spring 2011 collection. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, there are still many shows to go… Anywho, back to the collection. The first image is a tailored dress, I mean no explanation necessary, this is a staple for me. Floral top, perfect gray trousers? This second look has “Hi, I’m Raquel, co-founder of RickRock PR” written all over it. Next up, a shorts-suit? Yes please. Jason Wu, you have stolen my heart.

Preen

When I look at the collection from Preen, one word comes to mind: chic. Just because it is Spring doesn’t mean you have to look like its personification. You don’t always need florals or great prints, neutrals are one of the easiest ways to look sophisticated and sexy. Did I just say sexy? That was weird…Anyway, when you tone down the color and eliminate pattern, you can focus more on texture, cut, tailoring and most important: the wearer. And don’t get me started on the white T-strap stilettos.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

